A New Career Outlook

Lately, I have been so worried about being swept up into the Navy lifestyle and just being known as a “Navy Wife”.  This scares me.  I am so proud of what he has accomplished so far, but I want people to look at me as successful as well.  More importantly, I want to see myself successful.

I have one semester left before I receive my degree in Health Science with a focus on Rehabilitation and Disabilities.  Before Jay even decided to go into the military, I was stressing myself out deciding what career to do.  With this degree there are so many options.  I didn’t know if I wanted to be on the administrative and business side of healthcare or actually work with the patients.

I have decided to become an Occupational Therapist.  I’ve had this on my mind for a long time and with Jay  in the military, it gave me the final push.  I am so happy with my decision!  Now I just need to get into a program! Haha

Occupational Therapists help people with disabilities, who have an injury, or who just need a little help doing tasks for everyday life.  I always have trouble explaining it, but an example is if someone would have a stroke and have trouble buttoning their shirt, they would come in and we would help them re-learn how to button it by using assistive devices and different movements.

What gave me the final push was thinking what kind of job can I do while moving around a lot while still making a decent income.  Healthcare is always a top job that you can move around with, but when you don’t work with patients it is harder to find as many jobs.  There are so many positions for OTs available anywhere, even on base.  If I opted to, I could even join the navy as well and work as an OT with them.  So many options!  It is a job that you know you are making a difference in someone’s life.

The plan is to wait until Jay knows where he will be the longest and apply to schools there.  Given I won’t wait too much longer, but hopefully everything goes as planned!  I am so excited for this new direction in my life!  Thanks for reading and God bless!

Leave a comment